Kundalini Yoga Experience From A Classical & Clinical Point

05 December, 2022

Kundalini yoga is a type of yoga that includes chanting, singing, breathing exercises, and doing the same poses over and over again. Its goal is to get your Kundalini energy, also called shakti, going. People say that this spiritual energy is at the base of your spine.

Kundalini yoga is supposed to help you become more aware and get past your ego by waking up this energy. "Yoga of awareness" is another name for this practice. That's why yoga and meditation retreats in Rishikesh have become so popular. Read on to learn more about Kundalini yoga and how it differs from other types of yoga.


Kundalini Yoga: What Is It?

Kundalini yoga is done worldwide, but no one knows where it came from. Kundalini energy has been around for a long time. It was talked about in Vedic texts written as early as 1,000 B.C. Now yoga in Rishikesh is the hottest topic.

Most people think of Yogi Bhajan, a Pakistan yoga teacher when they think of Kundalini yoga. In the 1960s, he is thought to have brought the practice to the West.

The word "kundal," which means "circle" in Sanskrit, is where the word "kundalini" comes from. It can also mean a snake that is coiled up. Kundalini energy, according to people who believe in it, is like that coiled snake: it sleeps at the base of your spine and doesn't move.

Kundalini yoga is used to wake up this energy, which lets it move up your spine and through the chakras.

What Makes It Different From Other Forms of Yoga?

Kundalini yoga is a more spiritual form of yoga than other styles.

Physical movements are still involved, but they are not the primary focus. This is distinct from Hatha and vinyasa yoga, which focus on physical postures.

Additionally, Kundalini yoga is more precise and repeated. In contrast to other forms of yoga, such as 200 hour yoga teacher training or 300 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh, Kundalini yoga incorporates chanting, singing, motions, and precise breathing patterns.

Regarding Respiration, Mantras, Kriyas, and Mudras

The six main elements of kundalini yoga are performed in the following order:

  • Opening Chant - Every class starts with a chant, which is also called "tuning in."
  • Warmup or Pranayama -  You will perform breathing exercises, known as pranayama, and occasionally include spinal stretches. The objective of pranayama is to develop breath control.
  • Kriya - A kriya is a series of exercises that include breathing exercises, mudras (hand positions), noises, and meditation. Your instructor determines the kriya's duration and level of difficulty.
  • Relaxation - This lets the effects of a kriya sink into your body and mind.
  • Meditation - You are led via meditation by your teacher to develop awareness.
  • Closing Chant - A closing chant brings the class to an end.

Pros of Kundalini Yoga 

1. Enhances Self-Perception

Kundalini yoga may enhance body positivity and self-acceptance, according to a  study. Nine women with bulimia nervosa and anorexia nervosa reported experiencing these advantages.

The researchers found that Kundalini yoga may treat eating disorders by enhancing one's perception of and appreciation for oneself.

2. Relief from Anxiety and Stress

Like other kinds of yoga, Kundalini yoga can help you feel less stressed and anxious.

In a small study, Trusted Source, people who did Kundalini yoga immediately felt less stressed. Even after 3 more months of practice, this effect stayed the same.

The Bottom Line

In summary, other styles of yoga are less spiritual than Kundalini yoga. Other types of yoga flow with the breath, like Rishikesh yoga teacher training . However, Kundalini yoga uses specific chanting patterns, singing, movements, and breathing patterns. The goal is to help people become more spiritually aware. Kundalini yoga has several benefits that have been proven by science. Research shows that it may help reduce stress and anxiety, improve cognitive functioning, and improve how you see and value yourself.